Quick Navigation

Physics Home


Department of Physics

Want to major in physics? NIU Physics Faculty have close links with Fermilab and Argonne National Lab, and often involve undergrad and graduate students in research. For more information, see the pages for current and future students.

Recent Dissertations and Theses

Physics Department Colloquia 


Department Personnel

Chair: Dr. Laurence Lurio, 815-753-6470 llurio@niu.edu

Assistant Chair/Director of Undergraduate Studies:  Dr. Yasuo Ito, 815-753-6477 yito@niu.edu

Director of Graduate Studies: Philippe Piot, 815-753-6473 dgs-physics@niu.edu

Contact us: AskPhysics@niu.edu

Physics Help Room: Faraday Hall Rm 251 Mon-Thu 9-5, Fri 9-3

Upcoming Events


News & Highlights


Past News & Highlights