Physics Home


Department of Physics

Want to major in physics? Go here!

NIU Physics Faculty have close links with Fermilab and Argonne National Lab, and often involve undergrad and graduate students in research involving both institutions. For more information, see the links here and here.


Links to Recent Dissertations and Theses

Department Personnel

Chair: Dr. Laurence Lurio, 815-753-6470

Assistant Chair: Dr. Yasuo Ito, 815-753-6477

Director of Graduate Studies: Dr. David Hedin, 815-753-6483

Contact us:

Physics Help Room: FR 251 M-Th 9-5, F 9-3

Colloquium schedule  (here)

                                        (updated 1/16/2014)

News & Highlights

David Hedin renewed as Board of Trustees Professor

Opportunities at Argonne - April 17

NIU-Fermilab accelerator physics collaborative effort highlighted in Fermilab Today and NIU Today

Jerry Blaxey, Steve Boi and Ashlyn Shelitto present at 2014 AAAS meeting

Undergraduate Summer REU list is updated

proton tomography scanner construction completed

Mike Fortner receives award for outstanding environmental leadership.

Yasuo Ito interviewed in DeKalb Chronicle story about STEMFest.

Board of Trustees Professor Seminar: Dr. David Hedin, Department of Physics, "Understanding Our Asymmetrical Universe" 10/07/2013, 11:30 am - 1:00 pm. Capitol Room, Homes Student Center

Forbes magazine puts physics on the list of the 15 most valuable college majors.

The 2013 QuarkNet Summer Institute (NIU coordinators:  Michael Eads and Dhiman Chakraborty) hosted by the NIU Physics.  

NIU physicists David Hedin and Michael Eads featured in Fermilab Today story about muon identification and path reconstruction in the Dzero experiment.