Faculty and Staff Directory

Faculty

Name Title Area Email Phone Office
Jahred Adelman

Associate Professor
Director of NICADD

High Energy Physics jahred.adelman@niu.edu 815-753-6468 FR 219
Gerald Blazey

Distinguished Research Professor

Vice President for Research and innovation Partnerships

High Energy Physics gblazey@niu.edu 815-753-6480 FW 230
Dennis Brown Associate Professor Materials Science debrown.niu.edu@gmail.com 815-753-1772 FW 208
Dhiman Chakraborty Professor High Energy Physics dhiman@fnal.gov 815-753-8804 FW 220
Swapan Chattopadhyay Professor Director of Accelerator Research swapan@fnal.gov
schaterji@niu.edu
331-422-5999 FW 230A
Omar Chmaissem Professor Materials Science chmaissem@niu.edu 815-753-1772 FW 210
George Coutrakon Professor Medical Physics gcoutrakon@niu.edu 815-753-1772 FR 218
Michael Eads Associate Professor High Energy Physics/Science Education meads@niu.edu 815-753-6492 FW 209
Bela Erdelyi Professor Beams Physics erdelyi@nicadd.niu.edu 815-753-6484 FW 225
Andreas Glatz Professor Materials Science glatz@anl.gov 630-252-9725 FW 217
David Hedin Board of Trustees Professor High Energy Physics hedin@niu.edu 815-753-1772 FW 224
Yasuo Ito Associate Professor
Assistant Chair
Materials Science yito@niu.edu 815-753-6477 FW 218
Laurence Lurio Professor

Materials Science llurio@niu.edu 815-753-1772 FW 206
Stephen Martin

Presidential Teaching Professor

High-Energy Theory spmartin@niu.edu FW 214
Susan Mini Professor
Vice Provost for Resource Planning
Materials Science smini@niu.edu 815-753-1066 AL 220C
Philippe Piot Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
Beams Physics piot@nicadd.niu.edu 815-753-6473 FW 220
Michael J. Syphers Research Professor

msyphers@niu.edu
syphers@fnal.gov

815-753-1772 FW 204
Michel van Veenendaal Professor Solid State Theory veenendaal@niu.edu 815-753-1772 FW 223
Roland Winkler Professor Solid State Theory rwinkler@niu.edu 815-753-1772 FW 222
Zhili Xiao Board of Trustees              Professor Materials Science zxiao@niu.edu 815-753-1772
815-753-1458 (lab)
FW 212
Vishnu Zutshi

Professor
Chair

High Energy Physics vzutshi@niu.edu

815-753-6470

815-753-3080

FW 202

FR 221

Instructors

Name Title Area Email
Ercan Alp Visiting Professor Materials Science eea@aps.anl.gov 
Pushpa Bhat Adjunct Professor High Energy Physics bhat@fnal.gov 
Norayr Khalatyan Adjunct Professor High Energy Physics
Jyotsana Lal Adjunct Professor Condensed Matter
Tanaji Sen Adjunct Professor Accelerator Physics
Ulrich Welp Visiting Professor Materials Science uwelp@niu.edu 
Chen Xu  Adjunct Professor Beams Physics
Nestor Zaluzec Visiting Professor Materials Science Zaluzec@aaem.amc.anl.gov 

Research Scientists

Name Area Email Phone Office

Elizabeth Brost

High Energy Physics

ebrost@niu.edu

Jun Chang

Solid State Physics, NIU/APS

junchang@aps.anl.gov 

630-252-6307

630-252-3222 (fax)

Argonne, APS Building 401, Room B4212

Alexandre Dychkant

High Energy Physics

dyshkant@fnal.gov

815-753-8351

FW 228

Kurt Francis

High Energy Physics

kfrancis@nicadd.niu.edu

 

FW 228

Myun-Joon Han

Solid State Physics, NIU/APS

Pawel Klimek

High Energy Physics

pklimek@niu.edu 

Daniel Mihalcea

Beams Physics

mihalcea@fnal.gov 

815-753-6471

FW 230

Caesar Ordonez

Medical Physics/CSCI support

cordozez3@niu.edu

Tsezar Seman

Solid State Physics, NIU/APS

Iouri Smirnov

High Energy Physics

ismirnov@niu.edu

Sergey Uzunyan

High Energy Physics

serguei@nicadd.niu.edu

815-753-6485

FW 232

Staff

Name Title Email Phone Office
Greg Fagerberg Laboratory Manager gfagerberg@niu.edu 815-753-1953 FW202
Jane Pretkelis Office Manager jpretkelis@niu.edu 815-753-1047 FW202
Trevor Bollech Front Desk tbollech2@niu.edu 815-753-1772 FW202

Emeritus

Name Title Area Email on File
Carl Albright Professor Emeritus Particle Theory albright@fnal.gov
Bogdan Dabrowski Professor Emeritus Materials Science bdabrowski@niu.edu
Arthur Fedro Professor Emeritus Solid State Theory afedro1@niu.edu
Michael Fortner Associate Professor Emeritus High Energy Physics mfortner1@niu.edu
Thomas Rossing Professor Emeritus Acoustics 

rossing@ccrma.stanford.edu

Carol Thompson Professor Emerita Materials Science

cthompson@niu.edu

Suzanne Willis Professor Emerita Education/Public Science Literacy swillis1@niu.edu
Augden Windelborn Assistant Professor Emeritus Education augden@niu.edu

 

Contact Us

Department of Physics
La Tourette Hall, Room 202
815-753-6415
physics@niu.edu